<<< News Ticker  


Governance for Watling Park School

Watling Park School is overseen by a Local Governing Body (LGB) which has a strong focus on three strategic functions:

  • Ensuring the school is governed following the Trust & school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher and senior leadership team to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school, ensuring value for money is achieved.

These functions have been delegated to the LGB by the Bellevue Place Education Trust, which is the maintaining authority for the school.  Visit the BPET website for information on BPET’s governance structure and how this links with Watling Park School.

Free Schools are schools funded by the government with the freedom to govern independently – but all are accountable to the Secretary of State for Education. To share resources and best practice, Watling Park benefits from the Trust – a network of schools under one legal body.

BPET responsibilities are set out in the two following documents that are contracts between BPET and Secretary of State for Education:

  • Master Funding Agreement – a contract with BPET, as a multi academy sponsor
  • Supplementary Funding Agreement– a sub contract of the above for Watling Park School

The delegation for Watling Park School is set out in the BPET Scheme of Delegation.  To support BPET Governors, all are provided with a Governance Handbook that set out the terms of reference, structure along with a code of conduct for BPET governors.

This means that Watling Park School governors are able to concentrate on the things that really matter – educational strategy, school outcomes and aspiration.

Watling Park’s LGB is made up with the following appointments:

    • Two community governors appointed by BPET, which usually includes the Chair – these are governors with a local connection or interest who are committed to supporting educational opportunity in the area.
    • Two staff governors – an elected staff member and the Headteacher (as an ex-officio appointment)
    • Two parent governors (elected)
    • A governor’s term of office is 4 years and no governor will be expected to serve more than two terms.

The LGB meets six times a year.

All governors are required to complete a Declaration of pecuniary and personal interest every academic year.  For 2017/18 declarations, click here.

Current Governors

Dhanmita Boodhna – Chair of Governors

Dhanmita has worked for over 10 years in the event industry and has been integral in launching and establishing GFC Media Group as a business. Now working as a consultant, she specialises in launching start-ups, recruitment and HR, business development and event management.

Having a keen interest in the community, Dhanmita was appointed a Community Governor in the summer of 2015 and elected to Chair of Governors in September 2016. She felt the experience she had gained in the private sector would lend themselves to helping launch a new school in the area. Her daughter now attends Watling Park.

Anna Mechlinska – Parent Governor

Anna is a founding parent and has two boys now enrolled in Watling Park. Anna became a Parent Governor in 2015, with a background in hospitality industry, and ran a business for 4 years.  Anna has a strong commitment to lifelong learning, and is now enrolled in a further education herself to change her career into legal profession.

“Wherever possible I support the school on a voluntary basis to ensure the provision for children is as good as it can be. I want to help ensure that all the children in Watling Park school receive quality education in a safe and happy environment”.

Alyson Shannon – Community Governor – elected Sept 2017

Alyson Shannon has specialised working within the Early Years sector for over twelve years. Alyson owns three nurseries, Shannon ChildCare, all based in the Edgware area. They have acquired the rating ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted.

Alyson has always had a real love and an affinity for children; learning about child development is one of her passions. She attained a first class BA (Hons) degree in Early Years Childhood Studies and has Early Years Professional Status (EYPS). Additionally, Alyson works with Middlesex University on the Advisory Panel and Link Tutors their students.

Mark Greatrex – Trust Rep

Sonia Mallick – Acting Headteacher

Eve Watson – Staff

Sharma Ruddock – Parent Governor – elected Sept 2017

Sharma Ruddock has recently been elected as parent governor for Watling Park School. Sharma has one child at Watling and is a working parent, who works as a Business change advisor for a housing association.  Originally from Manchester but ventured to London in 2009, Sharma now lives close to the school.

Sharma says “My aim as parent governor is to ensure every child’s experience at Watling Park is positively happy, safe and supported in receiving the best possible education. I will help to do this by supporting Watling Park School’s Ethos to Learn, Enjoy and Succeed”.

The clerk to the LGB is Sarah Beaumont

Governor Appointment and Attendance Record

All schools are required to publish each governors appointment date, type of governor, term of office and attendance record.

Below is a table that outlines the attendance record of Watling Park governors for 2017-18.

GovernorsTypeDate appointed/resignedMeetings attendedOut of a total of
Dhanmita BoodhnaChair 1 Sept-15 - present
Anna MechlinskaParent20 Sept 15 - present
Mark GreatrexCommunity - Trust Rep1 Sept-15 - present
Alyson ShannonCommunity1 Sept 17 - present
Sonia Mallick – Acting HeadteacherStaff 1 Sept 17 - present
Eve WatsonStaff1 Sept 17 - present
Sharma Ruddock Parent1 Sept 17 - present


Below is a table that outlines the attendance record of Watling Park governors for 2016/17.

GovernorsTypeDate appointed/resignedMeetings attendedOut of a total of
Dhanmita BoodhnaChair 1 Sept-15 - present55
Anna MechlinskaParent20 Sept 15 - present35
Mark GreatrexCommunity - Trust Rep1 Sept-15 - present35
Raymond LiCommunity1 Sept-15 - resigned Oct 1745
Isabelle LeeCommunity1 Sept-15 - resigned July 1725
Richard CaraneseCommunity1 Sept-15 - resigned July 1745
Prettyvi RawooParent20 Sept 15 - resigned July 1745
Chisom Jide-AjagbeCommunity1 Sept-15 - resigned Dec 1601
Moira AndersonStaff (ex-officio)1 Sept-15 - left school July 1755
Rianne RichardsStaff17 May 16 - left school Dec 1611


Translate »